Student learning

Key Dates

Goldman Sachs 10,000 Small Businesses is an initiative to unlock the economic growth and job-creation potential of 10,000 small businesses across the United States through greater access to business education, financial capital, and business support services. The Community College of Philadelphia has partnered with the Goldman Sachs 10,000 Small Businesses initiative to help small businesses in the Greater Philadelphia region grow and create jobs.

Value to Business Owners

  • A scholarship covering tuition and program materials through the support of the Goldman Sachs Foundation.
  • A practical 100-hour business entrepreneurship training program that examines business fundamentals through the lens of your actual business experiences.
  • Comprehensive one-on-one business advisory services to help you develop and implement a business growth plan.
  • Development of a personalized growth plan tailored to your business.
  • Access to technical assistance and coaching.

Commitment

Scholars accepted into the program must attend all class sessions and clinics.

Participants must also complete six to eight hours of out-of-class activities each week. These assignments are an integral part of the program, and are designed to help you improve your business while enabling you to fully develop your business growth plans. The additional time commitment outside of class will include:

  • Business support services such as technical assistance;
  • Customized, one-on-one business advice; and
  • Time spent completing assignments in advance of each class.

For more information, please visit www.ccp.edu/10ksb or call 215-516-3700.

Cohort 23, Spring 2021 Online Class Schedule 

Zoom links will be provided

Module / Clinic / Event Part 1 – Opening Webinar Faculty Office Hours Part 2 – Closing Webinar
Onboarding Wed, Jan 13, 2021, 8-9:30am
Thurs, Jan 14, 2021
1 hour between 9am – 1pm
Wed, Jan 13, 2021, 12-1pm Fri, Jan 15, 2021, 8-9:30am
Orientation: You &
Your Business
Tues, Jan 19, 2021, 8-9:30am Wed, Jan 20, 2021, 12-1pm Fri, Jan 22, 2021, 8-9:30am
Mod 1:
You & Your Business
Mon, Jan 25, 2021, 8-9:30am Wed, Jan 27, 2021, 12-1pm Fri, Jan 29, 2021, 8-9:30am
Mod 2: Growth &
Opportunities
Mon, Feb 1, 2021, 8-9:30am Tues, Feb 2, 2021, 12-1pm
Wed, Feb 3, 2021, 12-1pm
Fri, Feb 5, 2021, 8-9:30am
Financial Statements
Workshop
Mon, Feb 8, 2021, 8-9:30am Tues, Feb 9, 2021, 12-1pm
Wed, Feb 10, 2021, 12-1pm
Fri, Feb 12, 2021, 8-9:30am
Mod 3:
Money & Metrics
Mon, Feb 15, 2021, 8-9:30am
Wed, Feb 17, 2021, 11:30-Noon
Tues, Feb 16, 2021, 12-1pm
Wed, Feb 17, 2021, 12-1pm
Fri, Feb 19, 2021, 8-9:30am
Mod 4:
You Are the Leader
Mon, Feb 22, 2021, 8-9:30am Tues, Feb 23, 2021, 12-1pm
Wed, Feb 24, 2021, 12-1pm
Fri, Feb 26, 2021, 8-9:30am
You Are the Lender
Clinic
Wed, Feb 24, 2021, 8-11:30am N/A N/A
Mod 5: It’s the
People, Part 1
Mon, Mar 1, 2021, 8-9:30am Tues, Mar 2, 2021, 12-1pm
Wed, Mar 3, 2021, 12-1pm
Fri, Mar 5, 2021, 8-9:30am
Negotiations I Clinic Thurs, Mar 4, 2021, 1-5pm N/A N/A
Mod 6:
Marketing & Selling
Mon, Mar 15, 2021, 8-9:30am Tues, Mar 16, 2021, 12-1pm
Wed, Mar 17, 2021, 12-1pm
Wed, Mar 17, 2021, 5-6pm
Fri, Mar 19, 2021, 8-9:30am
Mod 7: Strategic
Growth Through
Operations
Mon, Mar 22, 2021, 8-9:30am Tues, Mar 23, 2021, 12-1pm
Wed, Mar 24, 2021, 12-1pm
Fri, Mar 26, 2021, 8-9:30am
Negotiations II Clinic Wed, Mar 31, 2021, 1-5pm N/A N/A
HR & Legal Clinic Thurs, April 1, 2021, 2-5pm N/A N/A
Mod 8:
Being Bankable
Mon, Apr 5, 2021, 8-9:30am Tues, Apr 6, 2021, 12-1pm
Wed, Apr 7, 2021, 12-1pm
Fri, Apr 9, 2021, 8-9:30am
Mod 9.1: Action for
Growth
Mon, Apr 12, 2021, 8-9:30am N/A Fri, Apr 16, 2021, 8-9:30am
Mod 9.2: Putting It All
Together/Graduation
Mon, Apr 19, 2021, 8-11am
Tues, Apr 20, 2021, 8-11am
N/A Wed, Apr 21, 2021, 8-11am

 

Cohort 24, Summer 2020 Class Schedule (Monday,  February 8, 2021)

Date Time Class or Clinic
Wednesday, May 19, 2021 8:00 am – 6:00 pm Orientation and required Welcome Reception
Thursday, May 20, 2021 8:00 am – 5:30 pm Mod 1 – You and Your Business
Tuesday, May 25, 2021 1:00 – 4:00 pm Growth Plan Lab I (Optional)
Thursday, May 27, 2021 8:00 am – 5:30 pm Mod 2 – Growth and Opportunities
Thursday, June 3, 2021 8:00 am – 5:30 pm Financial Statement Workshops I and II
Thursday, June 10, 2021 8:00 am – 5:30 pm Mod 3 – Money and Metrics
Tuesday, June 15, 2021 8:00 am – 1:00 pm You are the Lender Clinic
Tuesday, June 15, 2021 1:00 – 4:00 pm Forecasting Lab (Optional)
Thursday, June 24, 2021 8:00 am – 5:30 pm Mod 4 - You are the Leader
Tuesday, June 29, 2021 8:00 am – 1:00 pm Negotiations I & Negotiations II Clinic
Thursday, July 08, 2021 8:00 am – 5:30 pm Mod 5 – It’s the People
Wednesday, July 14, 2021 3:00 – 8:00 pm Legal Clinic
Thursday, July 22, 2021 8:00 am – 5:30 pm Mod 6 – Marketing and Selling
Thursday, July 29, 2021 8:00 am – 5:30 pm Mod 7 – Operations and Processes
Tuesday, August 3, 2021 1:00 – 4:00 pm Pitch Lab (Optional)
Thursday, August 5, 2021 8:00 am – 5:30 pm Mod 8 – Being Bankable
Wednesday, August 11, 2021 1:00 pm – 4:00 pm Growth Plan Lab II (Optional)
Wednesday, August 18, 2021 8:00 am – 5:30 pm Mod 9 (Day 1) – Action for Growth Part I
Thursday, August 19, 2021 8:00 am – 5:30 pm Mod 9 (Day 2) – Action for Growth Part II

For more information, please visit www.ccp.edu/10ksb or call 215-516-3700.